Rough roads?
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Rough roads? within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; I am still searching for a new car and thought I might ask people here first hand, how does the ...

Rough roads?

I am still searching for a new car and thought I might ask people here first hand, how does the new wrx handle on rough roads? I know this is a rally bread machine, but coming from a civic si and miata, I hate the sound whenever I do go on dirt or gravel roads or hit potholes or pavement imperfections.
    I'm a suby noob btw, but I have just seen so many vids of wrx's going hard core off road tracks.

Thanks

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    The suspension has lots of travel and the car is relatively softly sprung, so it does very well on uneven roads. However, with little sound deadening and lots of plastic that wasn't assembled as tightly as possible, there will be plenty of creaks and rattles.
    WRX Info Links, Courtesy TheJ
    Man is a brute.... If you're cruel to him, he respects and fears you. If you're kind to him, he plucks your eyes out. Alexis Zorbas
    I lied. I cheated. I bribed men to cover the crimes of other men. I am an accessory to murder. But the most damning thing of all... I think I can live with it. And if I had to do it all over again - I would. Benjamin Sisko
    DISCLAIMER: Opinions expressed are the author's alone and are inherently worthless.

This summer I went camping and traveled about 30 miles on un-maintained roads. I was driving slow and boy was it noisy. My car handled the rough terrain like a champ though. I was a little scared going over some of the rocks. I feared smashing the transmission and getting stranded. Luckily all went well. I have no clue how a Civic or Miata would sound but they are built more for the street so I think the WRX could take a little more abuse.