2011 Goes Thunk?

This is a discussion on 2011 Goes Thunk? within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Subaru newbie here with a dumb question... After 8 weeks of waiting, my red 5 door WRX limited arrived last ...

2011 Goes Thunk?

Subaru newbie here with a dumb question...

After 8 weeks of waiting, my red 5 door WRX limited arrived last week. I can tell it will be a fun & fairly quick car, even though I have been responsibly babying it through the nearly complete break-in period (except for today...).

Anyway, my questions originate following a hard run through 1st & 2nd earlier today. After a full throttle blast through 1st, I very quickly shifted into 2nd still at full throttle, no different than I have done on past muscle cars. The launch in 2nd was VERY solid, but I noticed 2 things:
    1) the traction light blinked on a few times- wow, all four wheels on dry roads?
    2) there was a single, huge THUNK sound through the floorboard/firewall. The sound was reminiscent of my SVT Focus' motor hitting the firewall in similar situations, before I replaced the soft motor mounts. The WRX continued to drive fine afterwards, but I am wondering (1) if I should worry about this, (2) if it is going to happen every time, and (3) what is happening? My old Z07 vette made a horrible racket when the traction control kicked in- but the sound from the WRX seemed much worse.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

you probably over whelmed the soft rear diff mounts and or the motor mounts. id say that was just a bit too rough on the drive train. its never a good idea to drop your clutch petal that quick. an all wheel drive car isn't up to the abuse you can give a 2wd car(breaking traction instead of parts).if you make it a habit you'll destroy something eventually.
    168mph makes me giggle!!

I see a diff mount insert kit in your future.. check these out