2002 wrx boost problem or turbo
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on 2002 wrx boost problem or turbo within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; So this is whats going on with my wrx. My radiator busted and i had to replace it. Now when ...

2002 wrx boost problem or turbo

So this is whats going on with my wrx. My radiator busted and i had to replace it. Now when I down shift to boost up so i can go faster. My rpm needle would just jump to the redline and i would have to realest my gas so i don't brake my car i don't feel any turbo boost or any thing it would just reeve up to the redline I hear it but i don't feel it moving. I can also hear my blowoff valve go off after I released my gas pedal. I really don't know whats wrong with my car my is it the turbo or my blowoff valve? please someone help its my first turbo car and I love it to death.This is my first time here so I"m a nobody sorry.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

if your letting the clutch out and the motor is free revving like its in neutral then maybe your clutch is almost toast. either from age or abuse. how many miles are on the car? ever had the clutch replaced?

im assuming since your downshifting when this happens that you can get the car moving without any slipping?

and try this when your cruising at speed. put the car in 4th or 5th gear and punch it. if the car reves way up almost like its not in gear then id say its possibly time for a new clutch.

any extra info you could give would def help with the E-diagnosis.

good luck!

zax
    I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    time for a new clutch!
    2015 CWP WRX STi ... But how did I get roped back into an EJ motor?!
    Zax's utterly unimaginably stock 2015 STi build thread
    Zax's Shaggin' Wagon Build Thread Now tuned for 99% pure Unicorn Jizz!

Zach | Moderator -- Mid-Atlantic States, Tech & Modifying & General Repairs