The Deep End
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on The Deep End within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hey all, I am new to the WRX as a car and Subaru as a company. I just got my ...

The Deep End

Hey all,

I am new to the WRX as a car and Subaru as a company. I just got my hands on my 2011 WRX Hatch in the deepest of blacks with a short-throw shifter and am closing in on my first 1000 miles, in Philadelphia.

(Obligatory Crappy Pic for Rule#1)

I will be the first to admit that I'm not the best driver. This is partially because I've been stuck with an auto transmission in the main vehicle for the last 8 years, and haven't gotten to drive the manuals as much. It's also partly because I'm such a baby with new things. I still pick the tiny leaf pieces out of the all-weather floor mats, for example. So I don't drive it hard enough to learn how to drive it hard.

That said, the clutch-to-gas pedal engagement process seems a bit light and floaty compared to other cars i've driven (most German, but a few Japanese.) In particular I always have trouble over-revving this engine during first and second gear engagements. Anyone else have these tendencies when first sitting down in this vehicle? It would help me to know what is an acceptable rev range to be in when you attempt to engage in first. Generally the clutch just seems uncommunicative.

Other than that, I'm just here to learn as much about the car and how to get the most out of it as possible, as I've been out of the loop automotively for a while now.

Cheers

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

i am new to the WRX and Subaru too. Last car i had with a stick was a 89 SHO and a 03 focus. its good to here that i am not the only one having a problem getting use to the clutch. i only seam to have the problem with first at tack off. i did come out of a f150 with a auto so maybe its just that.

Smile