New to Soobs, not turbo AWD

This is a discussion on New to Soobs, not turbo AWD within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hi all, I'm new to the subaru family as I just picked up a new forester for my wife. As ...

New to Soobs, not turbo AWD

Hi all,

I'm new to the subaru family as I just picked up a new forester for my wife. As it stands, I now have her hand me down corolla, which is cool, but it isn't my style of car.

So I've been thinking about purchasing a new 2011 WRX base. I like the new body style a lot more, and I was wondering if any of you had actual specifics on the car's 2.5 WRX engine?
    I really want to know:

1) the strength/weaknesses of the engine internals, more about the turbo, and intercooler. These specs seem very hard to find for me.

2)how reliable the car's engine and tranny is? I've read about some engine issues in the 09 due to oil starvation...? Also, can the tranny really handle all the WRX power reliably, especially if modded? Any 2010-2011 issues I need to be aware of?

3)Currently I own a 1991 GMC Syclone. It too is AWD and boosted and does the 1/4 low 11s. I do my own tuning and run a electronic BLITZ boost controller along with alky injection. I would like to do the same with a WRX, so I'm really curious if the soobie can handle the extra power and abuse?

4)Lastly, any idea what is the lowest price I could get a base WRX for, ie no options included. I like my rides strippped becasue of weight and $$$. Maybe someone knows how much more weight could be removed safely...

Might be considered a lot of questions, but I'm getting serious about buying soon.

Thx
    Nello

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

zax
    I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    Welcome! Congrats on the Forester

EJ series engines are not exactly built for big power. Basic weaknesses include:
    1. Pistons (cast, not forged)
    2. All aluminum engine construction