Im really new to this.. stupid question here

This is a discussion on Im really new to this.. stupid question here within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hey guys i just picked up a 2002 wrx wagon. So far the only thing it has is a TBE ...

Im really new to this.. stupid question here

Hey guys i just picked up a 2002 wrx wagon. So far the only thing it has is a TBE and CAI. I know what i should be going for next is a custom tune, but i am wondering exactly what a "tune" is. I am new to tuners and cars in general and just trying to learn. sorry for the stupidity :P

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

A tune is basically a reprogramming of your cars ECU. Basically, they will be making changes to your engine management system to ensure those parts all work correctly together.

The best thing you can do is locate a quality Subaru tuner in your area and speak with them.
    ~ADAM
    70 El Camino SS clone
    2011 WRX Sedan in Satin White Cobb Stage 1+AEM Cold Air Intake
    Click here for my Progress Thread
    Installing HellaSupertones? Click here.
    N.E.R.D. #4
    Devout Practicalist

Quote Originally Posted by ElVerde View Post
    A tune is basically a reprogramming of your cars ECU. Basically, they will be making changes to your engine management system to ensure those parts all work correctly together.

The best thing you can do is locate a quality Subaru tuner in your area and speak with them.
    thanks for the help. another question.. im new to subarus so cobb access port is new to me also, what exactly is this?

^ It's basically a little device that you connect to your OBD-II port and download pre-written maps into the ECU or you can have someone custom make one for you and save it to the device.

Quote Originally Posted by armindk View Post