Noob 2010 STI here
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Noob 2010 STI here within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hi all, Noob and proud owner of a new 2010 STI. Hope to meet some good people and find some ...

Noob 2010 STI here

Hi all,

Noob and proud owner of a new 2010 STI. Hope to meet some good people and find some good info here.

Came from a MKV GTI, loved that thing, very nice little car, but I wanted something with more HP's and ended up with the STI. Very different machines. I am just beginning to learn it. Seems like all the power is north of 3000 RPMs, (in S# mode - not sure what the other two modes are good for...) The 3000-4500 seems to be where normal (good) acceleration can be found. 5000 to 7000 is the crazy zone. I haven't really jumped in to explore that area yet.

I'm not used to redlining an engine to wring the power out of it. The GTI had a lot of torque and power down low, and peaked out power wise a little after 5000 RPMS so there was no point in redlining it.

The STI seems like it needs to be taken almost to redline to really get the power out of it. Is that normal/ok in this car?

I haven't done that yet since it is new and not broken in yet. I have jumped on it pretty hard to seat the piston rings and keep up the variety in driving conditions while it's being broken in, but no redline stuff yet. From the feel of it driving north of 5000 RPMs in the lower gears is gonna be nuts.

Can these cars be driven that hard without worrying about the engine? It is a top shelf sports model, so I'm thinking it should be able to handle that kind of thing on occasion.

Your thoughts? What would be your first upgrades to a car like this? Are there any things I should be watching for. I have read about bad pistons in the '08, but hopefully they have solved that problem in the 2010 model.

Thanks all!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements