New in Knoxville
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on New in Knoxville within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hi All - I purchased a 2010 5 door about 2 weeks ago. After test driving a few other performance ...

New in Knoxville

Hi All - I purchased a 2010 5 door about 2 weeks ago. After test driving a few other performance hatchbacks I just kept coming back to the WRX. The car was a demo unit being driven by a manager who supposedly already did the cobb stage 1 flash on it. Is there a way to see if that's true without buying an accessport? Could a shop tell me?

My 2 previous cars were a Mazda RX8 and Jeep TJ, so while I'm not a total newb to modding and getting my knuckles scraped, I'm totally new to AWD and Turbos.

The car came with the premium sound system, under seat amp and media hub. I really hate the way interface the system has with an iPod. It's just easier to browse on my ipod, start an album, then plug it in rather then dealing with the unlabeled buttons. The first thing I want to do is upgrade the HU.

I've read through a bunch of threads already. I know that as long as I keep the subaru adapter I can use the amp with the T connector. Does someone make a connector that will just let me plug the amp into regular pre-amp outputs of a HU? Also, what could I expect to get if I sell the stock HU and media hub?

Thanks in advanced.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Welcome to the hobby.

Good news, the head unit is supposedly very easy to swap out =).

Bad news, if it was a cobb stage 1 flash, it is gone now unless the car has the accessport in it. In order to take the thing out, you need to revert the tune back to stock to "unmarry" it. You can only have the cobb on one car at a time basically. So the tune is probably gone unless it wasn't a cobb accessport flash.

If you post up some pictures of those adapters I'm sure you'll get some more help.