new cali suby owner w/mod questions
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on new cali suby owner w/mod questions within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; I purchased my Obsidian black wrx sedan a moth an a half ago and love it!! However i have a ...

Exclamation new cali suby owner w/mod questions

I purchased my Obsidian black wrx sedan a moth an a half ago and love it!! However i have a bad case of the mod itch!! I replaced the factory for an SPT CBE. Payed way too much for it, on long rides that monotonous drone sound gets annoying. i recently went perrin's stage 1 and i'm very happy with the change i feel the difference round second and fourth gear who knows? it could just be me. I looking into upgrading to a TBE for more hp gain. I don't want anything that's gonna be too loud any suggestions? Can i go stage 2 once i get the TBE without a TMIC?what sort of set up is recommended? Any risks? I'm fairly new to wrx's and modding in general. Any advice would be appreciated

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

On the forums doing research I have seen the stages mentioned quite often

It seems that Stage 2 includes a TBE (Turbo Back Exhaust) and a tune.

From what I read (haven't done it yet) the tune is where you should feel the real power.
    2008 Subaru WRX 5door : EJ25 Turbo
    1997 Honda Del Sol : N/A D16Y8
    1982 Pontiac Trans Am : Chevy 305

I Support ClubWRX
    You don't need a tmic for going stage 2. If you are going in for a protune when you get your turbo back you can get an sti tmic and it will help powerwise. However not necessary.

I had the aps 3" exhaust (looks like an spt) exhaust and the reason I went with a bigger louder style was because it never droned in my opinion. I have had the APS 4", 3.5" and the HKS hipower and invidia n1. That's my personal style and opinion. I like them the best. I think I'm going to try an espilir out to see how I like it on my 07