Newbie - 04 WRX in Vegas - Upgrade list?
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Newbie - 04 WRX in Vegas - Upgrade list? within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hey everyone, another newbie here from Las Vegas, Nevada. I'm inheriting an 04 WRX from my gf of 3 years ...

Newbie - 04 WRX in Vegas - Upgrade list?

Hey everyone, another newbie here from Las Vegas, Nevada. I'm inheriting an 04 WRX from my gf of 3 years (you know what's next ) and it needs some love. Now that I'm allowed to put money into it, I'm making plans and getting the car back in shape.

1) Summer is almost here and it just about needs new tires. Has crappy all seasons H speed rating, soft and squishy, upgrading to Dunlop Direzza Sport Z1 Star Specs beginning of next month. They're 225/50's instead of stock 205/55's but I've read they'll be fine.

2) Along with the tires I'll be getting an alignment and all that good stuff. I don't know as if my gf has ever done any of that. She hasn't in the time we've been dating and that's 3 yrs.

3) Just did the delete mod tonight and LOVE the new sound. Should I buy a corner pipe to connect the stock intake inlet? If so, who from? Seems it doesn't matter that much, just the possibility of getting colder air in.

4) Already put in a Perrin air filter when I got the oil changed a bit ago. Believe it or not, I noticed a difference (small but still noticed); probably because the stock one was nasty dirty. This whole time I thought it was being replaced when she got her oil changed...

Anyway, I read about the disadvantages of oil type filters so I dropped in at Autozone and picked up MAF sensor cleaner. I was VERY careful and cleaned that grime coated sucker. Strange thing is the car used to jerk/buck when I let off the gas too fast and when I went for a test drive tonight (after cleaning/drying), it doesn't do it any more. Strange?

-- Planned upgrades/"mods" --