Introduction/ questions!

This is a discussion on Introduction/ questions! within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hey, whats up everybody? This may be a long post, sorry in advance!! This is my first time posting here, ...

Cool Introduction/ questions!

Hey, whats up everybody? This may be a long post, sorry in advance!! This is my first time posting here, and I am not an owner of a Subaru...not yet
    When I became old enough to drive is when I really started getting into cars. I heard about a WRX and an STI and knew that was the car that I wanted!! Well about 3.5 years later here I am, now searching for the right Subaru. Ive been reading up on this site alot just trying to gain all the knowledge I can. I just sold my RWD summer car ( 89 5.0 Mustang GT ), and am left with my winter car ( VW ) I am a college student, have a good job and Im now looking to get into a car that I will be in for 5 years or so. Now is the time for the Subaru I have always wanted! Now, I have a few questions. I would not like to ask things that are posted elsewhere, so feel free to lead me there if they are.. I would just like some opinions for my current situation. I KNOW that the next car I buy will be a Subaru. I deal with winter, do alot of outdoorsy things, need reliabilitly with performance so the AWD is a must.. I am looking for somewhat low mileage (40,000 - 60,000)..What are your opinions on getting an earlier model with the 2.0 vs the 2.5? Is the power basically the same? I plan on doing very minor mods including TBE, CAI, and a short throw shifter. Will they each handle the mods equally? Has either been shown to be more reliable? Was the transmission improved with the 2.5? Any comparison information is greatly appreciated.