04 wrx turbo
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on 04 wrx turbo within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; My turbo blew at 50k. I recently bought a td05h-20g turbo on ebay for 0 + for shipping. MY ...

04 wrx turbo

My turbo blew at 50k. I recently bought a td05h-20g turbo on ebay for $250 + $50 for shipping. MY wrx is completely stock and this turbo is capable of supporting 440hp w/ the internal waste gate set at 9psi. I did want to do some upgrades at some time and since the stock turbo blew I figured this would be a good time. My question being is this a good turbo for my car and should I increase the waste gate pressure? I have no knowledge about turbos, this is my first turbo car. I do love the wrx but i feel it could use a little more power so any advise would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks, Mike

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

You will need to upgrade your fuel system with that turbo.

2004 wrx turbo

By upgrading my fuel system, do you mean new injectors and how much $ are we talking. I am by no means a master mech. but I do have a basic mechanical knowledge and do most of my own repairs. I also have friends who are pro. mechanics.
    If i were to bolt on the 20g w/out doing any other upgrades, you are saying it wouldn't work at all or it wouldn't work well? Would a 16g be a much better option? My situation is that I jumped the gun and bid on this 20g on ebay that was ending soon and won it for $250. A friend who is a mech. sent me the link and I assumed he new what he was talking about, lesson learned. Now I need to figure out if I should make the upgrades to make the 20g work properly or sell it and buy a 16g.
    Thanks, Mike