New to the WRX. What to know? (2004 WRX)
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

This is a discussion on New to the WRX. What to know? (2004 WRX) within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hey guys. I work at a Nissan Dealership and I've been driving a (heap of a) 98 Altima for the ...

New to the WRX. What to know? (2004 WRX)

Hey guys. I work at a Nissan Dealership and I've been driving a (heap of a) 98 Altima for the last 2 years. As I've been working at the dealership (driving things like the NISMO Z and GTR) I decided I wanted to buy a NISMO Z. Sadly my Altima is ready to go and I can't have my only car be a 2-seat, RWD, summer sports car. For that reason I needed something fun and affordable that can perform, that I can use as a practical car/tuner/snow and dirt drifter. I've always been a WRX fan so I quickly opted for the WRX.

Now enough with the intro.

My WRX will be arriving at my dealership from another state in a week, at which point I just have to do some paperwork and I can bring it home. It's a WR Blue, '04 WRX w/ Premium Pkg. What I'm wanting to know is if there are any particular things I should know going into this (please don't bother with reasons I should have bought another year...an 04 is what I have and it's what I'm sticking with).

For example: I read on Wikipedia that from '02 onward, the car does something to prevent clutch-drop for launching. Is this true? If so, is it mechanical or electronically controlled?

Next, does anyone know what the car is electronically limited at, as far as speed is concerned? Either way my dealership's GTR Tech can flash my chip, but I just want to know to see if I should flash it right away or if I can deal with waiting.

Any help or advise will be appreciated. Also if anyone has any recommendations on minor upgrades under $300, that would be helpful too. Thanks.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX