Subaru WRX Forum banner

Smell Issue

3K views 39 replies 8 participants last post by  ninefourteener 
#1 ·
I asked this question in a thread I created in the Car Purchasing forum, but since I'm still experiencing this issue, I thought I'd post it here. I'm new to all things WRX and most things cars-in-general, so I figured this would be the appropriate sub-forum for this thread. If not, I apologize.

Me said:
My first concern is that when I pulled it into my garage and popped the hood, I noticed a faint odor. My 1994 Toyota Corolla burns oil, and it didn't really smell like that, but there was definitely an odor coming from under the hood. Then I noticed what appeared to be steam (didn't seem thick enough to be smoke, and it dissipated quickly) coming from the area highlighted in the attached picture...
Here's the picture:

About the smell:
Like I said, it's doesn't really smell like burning oil to me. I could be wrong, but I don't think that's what it is. The closest comparison I can think of would be the smell of burning rubber. I've read that abusing the clutch can produce a distinct smell that one never forgets, but this smell doesn't seem all that shocking or memorable.

Since I'm relatively new to driving a standard, the clutch seems like the likely candidate, but the thing is, I can't really seem to correlate the times when I get the smell to times when I've been driving harder than normal or times when I've abused the transmission by making rookie mistakes.

The car seems to be running fine, but since I'm likely to attribute any abnormalities to my inexperience, I may not be the best judge of that.

My question is whether or not this is anything to be concerned about, and if it is, what I could check out in order to isolate the problem.

See less See more
#3 ·
Fml