cooked my clutch....

This is a discussion on cooked my clutch.... within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; i am new to stick, and last night i absolutely fried my clutch I started from a stop and killed ...

cooked my clutch....

i am new to stick, and last night i absolutely fried my clutch
    I started from a stop and killed it. I quickly(read: in a slight panic) started it back up and gave it more gas, but the car still bogged and almost died. Pissed, i revved to about 3k and slipped the clutch till I finally got the car into gear (about 7 seconds of clutch slippage) before i was even out of the small intersection i could smell it. i'd tried to start from 3rd gear instead of 1st. I let both the clutch and I chill out for about 10 minutes then drove the last mile to the restaurant.

after an hour in the restaurant, I started the car back up and immediately could smell my clutch again. shouldnt the car have smelled fine? theres no way the clutch was still hot is there? is there anything that I should to to try to offset the damage that i did?

and no, I will not be trying that stunt again

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    You have two options.

1. If any of the following is true:
    (a) The clutch slips (revs climb but the car does not accelerate
    (b) The throw-out bearing is noisy (there is a rattle or whirrrrr that goes away when the clutch pedal is pushed)
    (c) The car does not shift
    then replace the clutch

2. If none of the above are true, drive the car.
    WRX Info Links, Courtesy TheJ
    The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong in the broken places. Ernest Hemingway
    I lied. I cheated. I bribed men to cover the crimes of other men. I am an accessory to murder. But the most damning thing of all... I think I can live with it. And if I had to do it all over again - I would. Benjamin Sisko