Intake/Exhaust Upgrade Advice

This is a discussion on Intake/Exhaust Upgrade Advice within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hello everyone, Now that my tax $$ is in the bank I'm looking into some upgrades to do on my ...

Intake/Exhaust Upgrade Advice

Hello everyone,

Now that my tax $$ is in the bank I'm looking into some upgrades to do on my 02' WRX. I'm new to both tuning and the WRX, but have done some simple upgrades with my brother on his Celica GT (Cold Air, spoiler, etc.) So I was thinking about buying a cold air intake and possibly an exhaust upgrade for mine.

I'd like to hear what more experienced people suggest for upgrades to start with.

Thanks.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Welcome to the Club!

There are a lot of stickies (permanent posts), and a lot of reading that will help you on your quest to make your car more enjoyable.

My suggestion is to read the ones in the Engine Modifications forum so you can figure out what you want.

Everyone can benefit from a Turbo-back exhaust, and a tune. You can either purchase a catted or non-catted turbo-back exhaust. As far as the tune: Either purchase a Cobb AccessPort v2 (cobbtuning.com) or purchase a tactrix cable and download maps and use your computer to tune.

The VERY first thing you need to do though, is purchase a new up-pipe! You have a catalytic converter known as a "pre-cat" in there, and it has been removed on 06+ WRXs because it can fragment and destroy your turbo!!

My suggestion is to purchase the APS Up-pipe because it is the only one that uses heat shielding and a flex pipe.

Welcome again!
    Kevin
    Sinister's Blowoff Valve FAQ
    WRX Gas Mileage FAQ
    Sinister's Progress Thread - 430whp 429wtq - Sold
    Firearms Enthusiasts Thread

The Sheriff's Star at the bottom left corner rates a user's reputation.