Subie Mechanic Needed
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Subie Mechanic Needed within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hello All, I am new to the site. I own a 2002 WRX in need of some help. I experienced ...

Angry Subie Mechanic Needed

Hello All,
    I am new to the site. I own a 2002 WRX in need of some help. I experienced a cracked radiator and it overheated. I am not a mechanic, but assume I will need to replace the motor. I really like the car, but am at a bit of a loss right now. I do not know weather to have it fixed or try to sell it to someone with more time, money and talent than I have. I live in North Central Florida. Any help/advice would be appreciated.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Admiral Ackbar the 1st mycologist's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX
    Welcome to the club and sorry for your misfortune.

Did the motor fail or make strange noises? How long was it overheated? I wouldn't write it off based on what you posted, but it well might be toast.
    "From a little spark may burst a mighty flame." - Dante
    "The stitch is lost unless the thread is knotted." - Italian proverb

Quote Originally Posted by mycologist View Post
    Welcome to the club and sorry for your misfortune.

Did the motor fail or make strange noises? How long was it overheated? I wouldn't write it off based on what you posted, but it well might be toast.

The motor failed. I noticed it over heating, tried to make it home and it completely quite before i got there. If I end up keeping it, I have thought of having an STI motor dropped into it. Any thoughts? Any headaches that I am not thinking of?

Maybe I can help.

I am not a subie mechanic but I am mechanic in the Army. Is it just the radiator that is cracked or are you talking about the block being cracked?
    Wicked Effects
    Blobeye Syndicate #108

Quote Originally Posted by JackalMech View Post