Questions about whats under my hood
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Questions about whats under my hood within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Please point me in the right direction where to get these answered if its not in this forum. Well im ...

Questions about whats under my hood

Please point me in the right direction where to get these answered if its not in this forum.
    Well im very new to subaru's so dont laugh, i wanna learn. Sounds like my cars got a bov but there isnt one where theres suppose to be out of the top mount inter cooler so what is it.
    Its a 2002 and my turbo looks brand new colored compared to my friends thats the same year his is the rusty color, what do you think is up with that. theres different colored pullies is that anything?
    thanks for the help anyone.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

There is a saying about pictures being worth some amount of words or something... I'm not sure what that has to do with your thread, but I thought I would just mention that.
    This message printed on 100% recycled electrons.

DUB
    yyyuuuuuup.

Wellll........

If you could take a pic of your bay, that would help. As for your BOV, I'll need to see a picture to see what you have. Stock comes with a BPV (By-Pass Valve) looks like a BOV but have a hose to recirculate the air as opposed to blowing off to atmosphere. You have something there, that's for sure, especially if you have a boost gauge.

As for the turbo, a quick read of the nameplate might answer if its new/old/just clean

As for the pulley, measure the diameter, make sure its not different. Some people replace them with lighter, smaller pulleys to "under-drive" the accessories, give you more power to the motor (para-phrasing here, trying to not complicate it).