From Civic Si to STi
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on From Civic Si to STi within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hey everybody. Newbie here. I currently have an 07 Nighthawk Black Pearl Civic Si coupe. I'm ready for torque, HP ...

From Civic Si to STi

Hey everybody. Newbie here. I currently have an 07 Nighthawk Black Pearl Civic Si coupe. I'm ready for torque, HP and F/I, so Subie here I come. Couple of neewb questions...

First a little background. I'm going to today to test drive an 05 STi with 38K miles. Totally stock and according to the dealer the one-owner was a 40+ year old male. Personally, I've never bought a used car before, so this is my first experience in this realm and I'm a little skeptical to say the least. Always been a Honda guy, but ready to make the jump. It's either this STi or an 09 WRX.

OK, on to my questions. Can you guys give me the pros and cons to an 05 STi vs a new 09 WRX? I'm not a fan of the hatch so no 08/09 STi for me. I like the added HP of the STi, but I'm really leaning on a new car to avoid issues. Is there a real drawback to just buying an 09 WRX vs and STi?

Thanks in advance for any/all of your help. I look forward to this new forum. Currently an active member of 8thcivic.com (VolkSi).

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Sammich Makin' Pwincess wrxtreme06's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX
    welcome to the club. i'm not sure if any of us will be able to compare the 2 cars because i know the 09's arent really out yet so we havent had a chance to test drive them.

obviously a pro would be getting a brand new car. you'll have a factory warranty.. you know the car wont be completely abused.. you dont have to worry about whether or not it was taken care of, etc etc.

cons: its ugly

pros for an 05 sti: its a gorgeous car. it will be cheaper than the 09 wrx, it has that "raw horsepower" feel to it.