New member and MT questions.

This is a discussion on New member and MT questions. within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; I will be picking up an '03 WRX within a week or so. And I decided to join this site, ...

New member and MT questions.

I will be picking up an '03 WRX within a week or so. And I decided to join this site, just to find out more about these cars, especially before I purchase one. I am 25, and I work as a first officer on a regional carrier.

Now, i've never owned a manual transmission car before. The only manual transmission experience I have is messing around for a few miles in a buddy's off-road jeep. That was years ago, when I was 17 so I have I really have no idea how to drive manual at all. I know it will be easy for me to pickup, but if you could give me a quick guide on how to shift in an impreza, both daily driving and for a take-off/fast driving (on the track of course). Any advice is appreciated thanks.

Also, is this a good car to learn how to work on cars? Only thing i've ever done to a car is replace brakes and rotors, as well as change the oil. I understand the basic workings of cars, but I don't know specifically how to work on them. So, if this is a hard car to work on, give me a heads up.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I was kinda in the same boat as you getting my first manual this weekend. From what I can tell you so far is that you should be slow on the clutch. I drove my friends golf which has a really long clutch, so its a little bit more forgiving to release it faster, with this new rex, I would stall trying to go to quick. Really release it slow before you start moving and make sure to give it plenty of gas. You also don't have to worry about burning out so take it slow and enjoy. Learn proper technique so you do not form bad habits.

The best way to learn is lots and lots of practice.