need help about 02 wrx engine

This is a discussion on need help about 02 wrx engine within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; hello all. i'm new here. My friend bent one of his rods. the engine sucked water while he was driving. ...

need help about 02 wrx engine

hello all. i'm new here.
    My friend bent one of his rods. the engine sucked water while he was driving. the question is can i replece the rod with out pulling the engine out. i have no experience about boxter engines. the other question is what it takes to put an STI engine on my friend's car. i also need a engine name for non sti engine and sti engine. you know the code like rb26 or 2jz.
    Last edited by mehrshadvr4; 03-20-2008 at 09:05 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

just go with a short block from an 06+ wrx... and EJ255, and STI engine will be an EJ257
    SPONSORS for Rally:AMSOIL, Livewire Energy, Six-feet deep clothing, ARS(Aluminum Rapid Shelters), and FatHeads Eyewear.

Quote Originally Posted by wrxisthebest View Post
    just go with a short block from an 06+ wrx... and EJ255, and STI engine will be an EJ257
    thanks. he wants to know if it's possible to an sti engine on if there is not too much work in it.

an sti short block is possible without changing the wiring harness.. that would do.. just get the heads sent to a shop to get ported and polished and machined, and buy thicker head gaskets(to bring down the compression ratio, because wrx heads on a sti engine casue high compreesion ratios) and get it tuned!
    SPONSORS for Rally:AMSOIL, Livewire Energy, Six-feet deep clothing, ARS(Aluminum Rapid Shelters), and FatHeads Eyewear.