How do I drive slowly?
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

This is a discussion on How do I drive slowly? within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; I've recently bought a 2008 WRX, selling my 2001.5 Passat 1.8T. I'm still learning how to drive the WRX smoothly, ...

How do I drive slowly?

I've recently bought a 2008 WRX, selling my 2001.5 Passat 1.8T. I'm still learning how to drive the WRX smoothly, but my biggest problem is that I often realize that I'm driving far faster than I should - shooting past another vehicle at 50, in a 35 MPH speed limit, or hitting 80 on a 55 mph freeway. Now, it's not that I'm an excitable youngster (I'm old enough to remember when the first vehicle in this class, the Audi Quattro, came out), but it's just too easy to go fast in this thing.

No speeding tickets (except one from a traffic camera) in 30 years of driving - I hope this record lasts.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Buy lighter shoes?
    2014 Ford Fiesta ST

06 WRX, HAWKEYE # 001 <T-boned and sold>

COILOVER TABLE
    TURBO TABLE

I think we might have all had this problem when we first bought our cars. Once you get the feel for it, you'll get better. If you want to drive "slowly" like you said in the title, you can always keep it out of boost...but wheres the fun in that?
    Quote Originally Posted by BrianH View Post
    Careful, I still think she's packin wang.

haha
    I had your same problem.
    The first week I had my car I got pulled over doing 92 in a 55....the worst part is that I didn't even realize it!!!!

In my case, this just goes away with tiime...but what could you expect from a WRX.
    Hawk-Eye Alliance #116
    Dirty Crew #27

Quote Originally Posted by snowflowmfg View Post
    In my case, this just goes away with tiime...but what could you expect from a WRX.