New too..
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on New too.. within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; I am new to the Subi too... My last HP car was the Pontiac Grand Prix GTP - I thought ...

Supporting Member mjboudreaux77's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX

New too..

I am new to the Subi too... My last HP car was the Pontiac Grand Prix GTP - I thought it was quick at the time, until I drove the WRX. I got the last new 2007 in Vermont as I wasn't much of a fan of the 08 model yet.

Stupid question - The dealer made a big stink out of the break-in period of the car. I have to say, I have gone past the recommended 4000 RPM 5-6 times, but not redlined. I can't imagine its that bad - am I pretty normal in doing that?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX

Thumbs up

It's best to introduce yourself in your own thread... not in someone else's introduction thread...

So I'm moving you to your own thread!

Welcome to the club! Some people swear by the break-ing period and some don't... I would lean toward the side of caution and the manufacturers instructions. However, I don't think your car will blow up just because you went a little over a few times.

Please take a moment to click & explore the link in my signature.
    -The J
    New Members, CLICK & BOOKMARK these links:

"Driving most supercars is like trying to manhandle a cow up a back staircase. . . This is like smearing honey into Keira Knightly" -JC

I Support ClubWRX
    Greetings and welcome to the club!

Break in? There are a few schools of thought regarding break in. I did pretty much the same break in you have so far. 34k+ miles later the engine burns no discernable amount of oil. There are those who think WOT (wide open throttle) break-ins quickly seat the engine parts making for a positive break in. The debate goes on