+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on New Member within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hi, I'm a noob been viewing this forum for a while now as a guest, and hope to one day ...

Hi, I'm a noob been viewing this forum for a while now as a guest, and hope to one day join in as a fellow WRX owner, I was just curious as to why is the STI and WRX turbo has such a huge gap in terms of HP and TQ, seems like a waste for a Turbo to only put out 235 HPs when the STI's turbo puts out 300.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

no one?

from what I've heard the TR and standard WRX are down graded from the factory. If I've heard right they can really get around 285 or so but if you could buy a TR with that much power why buy a STI? So subaru jsut downgrades the power as a marketing scheme. That's what i've heard atleast. Hope this helps.
    owner of a stock (for now) 2005 WRB WRX limited.

One big difference is that the WRX has a 2.0l engine and the STi has a 2.5. I think the WRX's boost is only ~12lbs (correct me if I'm wrong guys) and the STi has 14.5lbs of boost. I'm not sure if the STi has a bigger turbo or not, but possibly.
    You might also want to do a search as well.
    Dr. Awesome, TR's have 235 HP stock, not 285.
    Last edited by mike05STi; 02-14-2006 at 03:22 PM.
    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.
    -Albert Einstein

Some people go through their whole lives wondering if they ever made a difference in the world. Marines don't have that problem.
    -Ronald Reagan

I know they have 235 stock. I was saying that they have been downgraded from 285 from the factory because who would buy an STI when you can get a TR with 15 les HP for alot less. It's all marketing.
    owner of a stock (for now) 2005 WRB WRX limited.

I Support ClubWRX
    Greetings and welcome!