New 06 WREX....couple of Q's about funky noises!!!
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

This is a discussion on New 06 WREX....couple of Q's about funky noises!!! within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Whats up everyone! First let me say that I am a total Noob when it comes to Subie's, and technical ...

New 06 WREX....couple of Q's about funky noises!!!

Whats up everyone!

First let me say that I am a total Noob when it comes to Subie's, and technical stuff for that matter, but I love my new WRX! I am diving into this forum to gain as much knowledge as I can. I apologize if my questions are silly, but I want to treat my new baby right!

I only have 500 miles on my new WRX TR, but I'm getting worried about the noises coming from under the hood....I've searched high and low, but I cannot be sure if what I'm hearing is the same as the common boxer tick.

Noise #1 - Basically, since this afternoon, my engine has gotten considerably LOUDER. There has always been a FAINT ticking noise, but driving home tonight it has increased about 2x more. It seems to be the loudest between 2k and 4k RPM. And it's sporadic! I'm 100% positive that it wasn't making these noises yesterday! It sounds like an old VW beetle! --I've hit 5-6k RPM a few times, and I'm worried that I overrevved the motor so early....I definitely don't want to tear it up on accident!

Noise #2- There is also a "whine" coming from the engine area on deceleration, is that normal?

Noise #3- Driving home today I hit 75-80 on the freeway and I heard a sudden "HOOOOONNNNKKKKK.......HOOOOOOONNNNK" noise sporatically making a verbal appearance...never heard it before today.

Noise #4- When I turn the car off, everything is creaking and ticking...sounds like the exhaust, but it's quite loud! The engine bay seems really hot as well!!! The Temp guage is always fine though....

Thanks in advance for everyone's help!!! Glad to be here!!!