WRX or STI?
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

This is a discussion on WRX or STI? within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hey, I'm a newbie around here. I'm gonna buy new WRX or used STI in a month or so. I ...

WRX or STI?

Hey, I'm a newbie around here. I'm gonna buy new WRX or used STI in a month or so. I just wanted to see what some of you guys who have driven both think about them. Is the WRX pretty easy to upgrade or should I just spend a little more and get the STI?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Well it depends on what your goals are. The STi is a better platform to start with, but the WRX isnt a slouch.

If your looking for over 300awhp then just get the STi. 6spd, DCCD, 2.5L block.

If not get the WRX. its a win/win situation.
    2008 Satin White Pearl WRX Sedan w/ Navi
    2005 San Remo Red WRX Sedan w/ VF34 (traded)
    Pi Kappa Alpha | New England Flat 4

I've looked at both for a while and test driven each. I'm kind of just a weekend mech though and don't want to get in over my head trying to upgrade the WRX when I could just get a STI for a little more dough. I also am not sure about buying a used STI.

depends on how much performance you want.

WRX is more for "streetable" performance. but can always been upgraded if the craving for more performance hits you.

while the STi is more balls out performance that you'd pretty much need only for the Track. Definatly worth every penny if you want the performance though and yes.. parts for the STi are very very very expensive (like OEM parts if you get in an accident or what not). if anyhting on it breaks you're looking at a very expensive bill.

both are great cars... but the main thing that sucks about the WRX, is that it will always be in the STi's shadow. "hey is that an STi??" no... =/
    they call STi's STDs because everyone is getting them.