Manual comparison question
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Manual comparison question within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; How much different is driving a WRX from an S2000? Im new to manuals... I just learned the basics on ...

Manual comparison question

How much different is driving a WRX from an S2000? Im new to manuals... I just learned the basics on my moms s2000. Whats so different about the two in terms of actually driving them?
    The reason I ask is because I read alot of posts saying that the WRX is unique when compared to FWD/RWD driving other cars. How so?
    when the turbo spins the bull**** ends

My mods

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

sid
    driving stick is like riding a bicycle. different cars have different feel to them but once you learn stick you shouldn't have any problems.

I've had my '05 5m/t WRX for two weeks, had never had my own manual before, only driven others. By the end up the second day I had it (800 miles ), it was instinctive. If you can drive any manual decently you can get the hang of this one in a day or two. Just don't think about launching for at least a month or two. Got 2000 miles on mine now and I just now broke 4K rpm, I trying to take care of it

I Support ClubWRX
    Quote Originally Posted by sid
    driving stick is like riding a bicycle. different cars have different feel to them but once you learn stick you shouldn't have any problems.
    +1. The differences are in the overall feel of the shifter (sloppy / precise), the amount of travel of the shifter (short throw / long throw), the amount of travel of the clutch pedal, the amount of effort needed to disengage and where the clutch starts to grab. These can vary quite a bit. With some practice, you will adapt to all the variations quickly.
    Last edited by Sasquatch; 08-21-2005 at 08:28 AM.