Gotta get a car next week, wrx or boresville
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Gotta get a car next week, wrx or boresville within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hi everyone, Just joined, I have no experience with subaru's or with any awd car for that matter. I need ...

Gotta get a car next week, wrx or boresville

Hi everyone,
    Just joined, I have no experience with subaru's or with any awd car for that matter. I need to purchase a car in the next 10 days or so seeing as mine is falling apart on me. I stopped by the subaru dealerships today to test drive an 05' wrx sedan. Wow, that is some fun power! The salesman was extremely nice, and races a wrx himself making over 460whp. Now, he told me about the 06' models coming out with the 2.5liter engines, so he handed me the keys to test drive the forester, said it would be very similar to it. I definately noticed a lot more pull in the lower/mid rpm range (more torque i'm assuming to come with the bigger displacement) but awkwardly, the 2.0 felt as if it had more up top. It could have been that the forester is geared differently/weighs more/isn't designed as the wrx was. heheh, anyway, I'm crossed now on what to do.

$22k for an 05' wrx or to wait until next week when the 06' wrx track or tuner version comes out. I can't recall exactly what he said, kinda slurred it, i believe it was tuner though. The 06' "tuner" wrx can be had for $700 more then the 05' wrx. Will it be worth the extra money? Salesman told me i'd loose automatic climate control, 6 cd changer, and power seats i believe. Also said the car is lightened even further (i'm guessing lighweight body panels? no wing? etc.) I've gotta commute and sit in traffic for about 2 hours total each day, but i do love to have fun on the weekends. Let me know what you think for the money and which would be a better deal.