WRX noob needs advice: STi or Stg2/4?

This is a discussion on WRX noob needs advice: STi or Stg2/4? within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Ok, well in case you can't tell, I'm new to the realm of the subies. I've been an avid off-roader ...

WRX noob needs advice: STi or Stg2/4?

Ok, well in case you can't tell, I'm new to the realm of the subies. I've been an avid off-roader and Jeep fanatic, but have lost the lust for that. Speed is what I'm after and I love the looks and performance of the WRXs. I live in an area with a decent amount of snow, lots of great hills and twisties, and I think the WRX will be much better suited there than my cherokee. So for my question: would my money be better invested in an 02-04 WRX, and modding it up (I'm not really familiar with what all parts come in each stage, I'm trying to learn though), or should I save some more for an 04 STi? I always do my own work and love modding my vehicles, but I don't know much about the differences between these two. Is the 6spd better and diminishing turbo lag? can i squeeze more boost out of the 2.5? is it better per dollar to mod up a WRX? which of the 2 gets better MPG (being a college student, this is of concern) Basic newbie questions like that. Any input would help a ton. thanks guys

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Quote Originally Posted by HocusPocus