VW then WRX now
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on VW then WRX now within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Just traded in my Jetta for a new 05 WRX sedan. Love the car! although all this talk about problems ...

VW then WRX now

Just traded in my Jetta for a new 05 WRX sedan.

Love the car! although all this talk about problems with the tranny is scaring me.

I've had the car for about 2 weeks and bought it with 10 miles on it, and already I think my reverse gear is funky. I've been driving stick for 6 years now, so I don't think I did something wrong to car. Seems like sometimes it just wont pop into reverse. I have to wait a minute and then its fine. As if that didn't scare me enough, the other day while sitting at a light, i couldn't get it into first. After about a minute it went in fine. I've been driving like a grandma since I got it, so I don't think its me causing the problem.

Any suggestions or reasons why this might be occuring?

Thanks all!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

dont worry the reverse situation is normal mine soes it alot to all you have to do is pump the clutch a few times.
    2003 sonic yellow wrx mods: K&N drop in filter, koji mod, muffler
    http://www.clubwrx.net/forums/showth...=20&highlight=

I Support ClubWRX
    Welcome to the club!

New car? I'd be quick about asking the dealer to invesigate.

I Support ClubWRX
    Quote Originally Posted by Swampdonkey
    dont worry the reverse situation is normal mine soes it alot to all you have to do is pump the clutch a few times.
    Normal? This was never the case with my 2004. Might be sluggish in really cold weather ... not a problem now.

I plan on going back to the dealer Tuesday of next week to get the rust proofing done and getting my boost gauge installed( I know it sucks, but it was included). I'll ask them then about the reverse and first gear issues.