How to build boost
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on How to build boost within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hello - I am a newbie. I have a 05 STI. I have been reading the posts about launching and ...

Post How to build boost

Hello - I am a newbie. I have a 05 STI. I have been reading the posts about launching and a lot of them say to build up the boost before u 'slip' or 'dump' the clutch. I have revved up to 3 or 4 K and do not see the boost gauge going up over negative much. Can someone please help me with building boost before launching. Thanks for your patience.
    Jim

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I'm not too sure what they are talking about...you can't build much (if any) boost without a load on the engine. Unless you have an anti-lag system or launch control, the best you can do is rev it.
    2003 WRB Sedan. Mods & Pics

Quote Originally Posted by scooby-x
    OMG!!! Do you want me on my knees or bent over? I love you

0 is better than negative... just hold your revs up and slip the clutch and you'll take off just fine. some people have the launch down so well that they can have the car idling, then stomp on the gas just the right amount while slipping the clutch do build a slight amount more boost than by just holding the RPMs, but its tough to do and i dont know if there's really too much benefit to it.
    bryan

-2003 Blue WRX, complete 2007 STi Engine/Drivetrain transplant - Pic 1 | Pic 2 | Pic 3 | Pic 4 (new!)
    -1994 Black Supra TT 6MT - Pic | Build/Restoration Thread: 67mm, Fuel, Painted Engine Bay, Fuse Box Relocation, Wire Tuck, etc.

www.TriStateTuners.com

I noticed that if I lightly rev the engine a few times (up to like 1.5-2k), the boost will climb a bit, but I have to be prepared to use the boost otherwise I've just wasted gas.