First Time Ever at the Drags

This is a discussion on First Time Ever at the Drags within the Motorsports Talk forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Went to the drags for the first time ever today for a test and tune, as expected i ran pretty ...

Went to the drags for the first time ever today for a test and tune, as expected i ran pretty badly, first 2 runs went 14.7 3rd run went 14.5 and my last run i finally got it down to 14.2, still not close to what i would have liked but had a lot of fun. Posted below was the slip from my last run, yes the reaction time/ 60 was bad :/ caught sleeping on the line on that one but i hope to get back out again soon. Still working on the launch since im new at this which is what hurt me the most. Mostly stock just a Cobb SF Intake + Cobb Stage 1 OTS Tune. Did get my 100MPH club sticker tho

Edit: This was at Beaver Springs Dragway in PA

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WP_20140323_004.jpg 
Views:	81 
Size:	54.6 KB 
ID:	140937

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I hear that is up hill anyways and that people run slower there.
    <-------- Taylor Swift.
    2006 WRX 330whp. 300wtq. Slow.
    Hawk-Eye Alliance #137
    First Mods...what to do.
    Subaru Guide

Just be careful not to damage your transmission working on your launches. Let your clutch feel the pain to save your transmission.

Yeah i was definitely making sure to work the clutch and not drop it on the transmission, easier to replace a clutch

2.2 sec 60' time in a WRX means you're bogging your launch. With practice you should be able to get your 60' times down in the 1.8x sec range in a lightly modded WRX.
    With 100 mph trap speeds, you could easily run low 13s with a faster 60' time.

WRXs needs a lot of rpm leaving the line. Without it, the engine just bogs (turbo lag kicks in while boost trys to build)and you run slow 60' times.

I've got a stack of at least 300 time slips from my 02 WRX and 04 STi.