how to get into racing/drifting
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on how to get into racing/drifting within the Motorsports Talk forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Just been thinking for awhile about getting into the racing/ drifting. not sure where to begin. Any ideas on where ...

how to get into racing/drifting

Just been thinking for awhile about getting into the racing/ drifting. not sure where to begin. Any ideas on where to start I'm located in NY. thanks

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

as a hobby?
    Hawk-Eye Alliance#8089
    MODS LIST

yeah, just one of those things ive always wanted to do.

Watch the fast and the furious like 15 times then go practice racing in a school zone.
    2012 DGM 5 DOOR WRX
    Mods: Stage 2+
    "I live my life a twelve year old at a time. For those ten seconds or less, I'm free."
    Official ClubWRX Creeper

I'm no expert... I'm still learning but...

easiest is bring yourself and your friends to a local auto-x event. A lot of my friends are now hooked on auto-x locally and we sometimes drive 4+ hours away to check out and take part in some of the larger auto-x events.

If you've got the $ just prep your car and go to a track day.

Again make it a social event... bring your friends and have fun racing against each other. Its just that much more fun competing against people you know and talking about what happened with a beer and a few drinks right after.

[edit]

if you're a baller go club racing. done
    Last edited by Acrdys; 08-29-2012 at 10:12 PM.
    Hawk-Eye Alliance#8089
    MODS LIST

If you're talking about going to the track then I'd recommend some beginner's classes first. You should search for some local drift events or check out a local forum. For drifting though, I would personally buy a beater and find an abandoned lot with a large amount of space, and practice there.
    2011 SWP WRX Hatch

I Support ClubWRX