Launch Question
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

This is a discussion on Launch Question within the Motorsports Talk forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; So I am new to owning a WRX. Just broke my 1k miles and decided to do some beating on ...

Launch Question

So I am new to owning a WRX. Just broke my 1k miles and decided to do some beating on it haha. I decided to try and launch it a few times and came up with some odd results. When I would drop it into 1st gear at around 3k rpm it will first like jump like it wants to go then it will lurch and then take off. Am I doing something wrong? Tips appreciated

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

My best suggestion is to not launch your brand new car if you want it to last.

However, if you are going to anyway I'd suggest buying a Cobb AP so you can use it's launch control to make things easier.

Launching is key to racing! Lmao I was hoping to at least get 1 or 2 replies before somebody would be douchey ha. I'll be getting an AP and intake soon. But until then....

I Support ClubWRX
    3K isn't a launch. Try in the 5-6K range.

Quote Originally Posted by ProphetWRX
    Lmao I was hoping to at least get 1 or 2 replies before somebody would be douchey ha.

Nothing eric said was inappropriate. It was a warning that you can cause damage to the car (which warranty claims would be denied under "abuse").
    2005 WRX STi (Mods | Virtual Dyno)

Resident Tuner @ WTF Tuning

"Never trust anything that bleeds for a week and lives ..."

UNYSOC

Well let's face it. If you do it and think its not bad for your car. Well, your dumb. To put it nicely haha. I was just wondering bc it seemed to me the car shouldn't like lurch the way it does I just expected it to get up and go. Oh and yes my traction control was off.

Quote Originally Posted by ProphetWRX View Post