Autox + 02 Tranny = ?

This is a discussion on Autox + 02 Tranny = ? within the Motorsports Talk forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; I know the 02 bugeyes are known for having a glass tranny, mostly in 2nd is what ive heard. is ...

Autox + 02 Tranny = ?

I know the 02 bugeyes are known for having a glass tranny, mostly in 2nd is what ive heard. is there any issue or risk in runny the local autox events with a stock car and tranny. all i have is CBE, wheels with good tires, and a drop in K&N filter so no power adders. and theres only 60K miles on it. im definately a novice at autox. seeing as i havent ever tried it.

So i guess my major question is whether im going to break it or not? im a proficient stick driver so no grinding gears or anything.

Dan

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I've only run autox once on my 02 and all i had was an mbc. I know over on nasioc buttdyno is a big autox guy and he has an 02 iirc. i just checked and hes on here. I havent had any problems since then. i actually beat on my car more on back roads than what i did in the autox

that's my .02

you'll be fine, don't slam into 2nd gear and once your there, you wont shread it at stock power levels. go have fun.

IMO at stock or near stock power levels its the shock loading that is going to destroy the tranny.

A couple things I usually do (I'm slow, so....)

1) Don't dump the clutch on the start, there is usually significant roll out at an autocross that you have plenty of time to load up the tranny before you cross the timing lights.

2) At most events there is not enough of a straight to wind out 1st so short shift into second and leave it there. When you do shift take the time to engage the gear smoothly. The more you do this the faster you will be able to do it.

Best,
    Dan

I Support ClubWRX