Any tips on launching a manual WRX?
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Any tips on launching a manual WRX? within the Motorsports Talk forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hey guys, I'm a complete newbie to my 04 WRX and AWD cars in general. All of the manual tranny ...

Any tips on launching a manual WRX?

Hey guys, I'm a complete newbie to my 04 WRX and AWD cars in general. All of the manual tranny cars that I've driven have been real wheel drive cars, such as my RX-7. Those guys you just dump the clutch at whatever RPM you feel like and it just spins if you gave it too much gas. Oh, another thing, I've never owned a turbo either, I need to learn that part as well. My WRX is bone stock as well.

Here is what I've noticed so far:
    If I dump the clutch at 3k RPMs, it just takes off slow.
    If I ride the clutch a little at 3k RPMs, this seems to give the best results so far, but if I go any higher RPMs I can sometimes smell the clutch burn a little.
    If I dump the clutch at anything higher than 3k RPMs it jerks really hard, and sometimes bucks. I think I need to avoid dumping the clutch period.

Thanks for your help guys, I really love this car and so far, even though I don't have a really good takeoff I've pulled everyone that messed with me.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Welcome to the Club.

The 5MT WRX doesn't like to be launched in the manner that you are describing. (dumping the clutch.)
    Keep doing this, and your risk of needing a new transmission in the short term is high. Normal cars spin the wheels to relieve the stress of a hard launch; an AWD car won't spin the wheels like that, and all of the stress goes into the tranny.

If for some reason I need to get out of the hole quickly, I slip the clutch at around 3500rpms; that seems to work pretty well on my wagon.
    --Ray
    Grandfather of the Bugeye Mafia
    2013 Subaru BRZ Limited