Advice on an install
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Advice on an install within the Mid-Atlantic States forums, part of the Regional Discussion category; First, let me say that I have few tools and no place to do installs. (I live in an apartment ...

Advice on an install

First, let me say that I have few tools and no place to do installs. (I live in an apartment building) Also, I'm a complete noob when it comes to doing my own work.

I recently purchased a Kartboy SS, plus front and rear bushings. Precision Tuning says that install will cost $130. Additionally, I had been toying with the idea of buying some Whiteline steering bushings, but Precision says that will cost $120 to install.

I've done a lot of research, and I have a hard time putting up nearly $300 to get those installed.

Is there any other place that would charge less for an install, or would anyone be willing to help that has installed these parts before? I'm in Northern Jersey, btw.

Thanks for the help.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Registered User uncle lewie wrx's Avatar
    PM me if you want some1 to install it for you for cheaper, their in Monmouth County and do excellent work (senior master suby tech).

I've never done the steering bushing install, but the SS install is VERY easy...the bushings are pretty simple too...but you have to crawl under your car and drop out the shift linkage...probably not something you want to do in your parking garage.
    ScoobyDMC #009 - making dirty jokes since before you were making dirty diapers.
    Quote Originally Posted by Blarg
    go f*** yourself

I've done the bushings, they aren't bad it's just a matter of squeezing them between your steering hard lines. But like the SS you have to get under your car and the more room you have to maneuver, the better.

Know anyone with a garage and jack stands? That might only cost you a 6-pack or something.
    06 S40 T5 AWD
    Previous: 2004 WRX
    05 CBR600F4i