DC traffic and your Subaru

This is a discussion on DC traffic and your Subaru within the Mid-Atlantic States forums, part of the Regional Discussion category; I'm very new to the DC area, I live in PG county in MD and work in Bethesda. I previously ...

DC traffic and your Subaru

I'm very new to the DC area, I live in PG county in MD and work in Bethesda. I previously lived in NJ, in the middle of nowhere. It was 20 minutes to the nearest anything, and a 25mile (one way) commute on the highway took me 35mins on average.

Now, I commute ~10 miles and it takes me an hour on average! I ride a motorcycle when I can, and that definitely gets me from A to B sooner than a car.

Anyway, I'm just curious, how many of you commute in heavy traffic on a daily basis and drive a manual? I am not new to a manual trans and I am not new to traffic, but I have never been in traffic like this every day with a manual trans. Wondering if I'll get sick of it haha I just enjoy it way too much to not get the WRX with an MT!
    Aspiring WRX owner!
    '04 Explorer XLT 4x4 (Selling)
    '12 Kawasaki Ninja 650 (The DD)
    '11 Husqvarna TE250i

Searching for a WRX for sale!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Hi Matticus91,
    I've gotten stuck in traffic with my WRX around the beltway and Rt70 myself, Obviously, it is more of a pain in the ars than a automatic, but I would not not buy the WRX because of it. The clutch is not that stiff to be of a concern.
    I see you have a 650r. I too have one. Mine is an '06 black. I did artwork in the lower gray fairings and installed an Arrow exhaust.
    Anyway, I don't think you'll regret the purchase of a WRX with the traffic you drive in.

Brandi

10 miles of heavy Orange County traffic in the morning.
    10 miles of heavy Orange County traffic going back.
    Plus x amount of miles if I get stuck in the lunch rush.

Don't still love my WRX.