Copyright tips.
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Copyright tips. within the Member Show-Off & Photography forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; I explained to Verdugo a couple days ago that I've been doing freelance photography for a few years, now. Recently, ...

Copyright tips.

I explained to Verdugo a couple days ago that I've been doing freelance photography for a few years, now. Recently, though, I've been getting requests from bigger clients, and I'm starting to worry more about protecting my copyright. I understand a little, but I thought we might be able to put together a decent thread with tips for protecting copyright.

Here's what I understand:

Implied Copyright states that the creator of a work maintins the copyright of that work from the date of creation. However it does not allow the artist to seek monetary damages if a company uses your images without your permission.

It's always a good idea to have your client sign a contract. But, for those of you that are pro, do you (the artist) maintain ownership of the copyright, and allow the client to lisence the image, or does copyright transfer to the client?

Any other tips and questions would be awesome!
    In short: HLGBGUAHUGLABLAGUHGALGHAGHL
    Mods::Pics

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

As an assistant manager for a major drug store chain with a 1 hour photo service, I think I can help assist you with some copyright questions since we do not print copyright protected pictures and are trained to look for them in developing.

-The life of the copyright is owned by the photographer for the life of the photographer + 50 years.
    -If a company uses your photograph without your permission, that is a copyright violation. Only way to punish a corporation under the law is with monetary damages. Penalties I believe are around the $100k.