[HELP] Heater not blowing heat

This is a discussion on [HELP] Heater not blowing heat within the Maintenance, service, and repair forums, part of the Tutorials & DIY category; Hello everyone i am new to the subaru world ! I recently purchased a 02 WRX with 130K on it ...

[HELP] Heater not blowing heat

Hello everyone i am new to the subaru world !
    I recently purchased a 02 WRX with 130K on it from the dealership they put a no warrenty on it because its a turbo car... but i had already signed over the papers.
    Thats besides the point i bought the car as is and didn't realize that the heater wasent working....
    The next day after i purchased the car i had figured this out.. than i looked and realized that the hoses coming from the firewall are being bypassed into a loop.
    Here is a picture...

Okay now... First thing that comes to mind is my heater core is bad or leaking or just gunked up and the previous owner didn't know what to do..
    So ive done my fare share of research and the heater core seems like its just too much of a hastle to work with and id rather just not have a heater because i dont wanna rip off the dash and do all this stuff for something i have never even done before..
    But i don't think its the heater core...
    The reason i say this is because..

I think the car was in a front end collision before i bought it and the dealership bought the car at auction and replaced what needed to be replaced....
    I have a carfax of the car that is why i know it was purchased from auction before i bought it car fax doesent have any reported accident but i have a eye...
    And know how to put two and two together...
    1. The car has a brand new paint job.
    2. There is a crack in the front right light.
    3. There is a brand new radiator and radiator mount on the car...