Sub box options (again)

This is a discussion on Sub box options (again) within the Interior Mods forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Ok, I have two sealed 12" in the car right now, each one rated at ~94dB. When I went from ...

Sub box options (again)

Ok, I have two sealed 12" in the car right now, each one rated at ~94dB. When I went from one to two, I know the sound didn't double (i.e. I'm no producing 180dB now). I'm not thrilled with the response so I was thinking about switching to a single 12 in a ported enclosure, which is rated at ~103dB max.

I guess my main question is: how does the SPL increase when you add speakers? How does one ported sub compare to two sealed subs purely in volume?

Sealed curve:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails sealed.jpg  

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Ported curve:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails ported.jpg  

Ok, there's tons of variables when it comes to SPL. Speakers are rated at a given sensitivity, which does not translate into straight SPL. Also, keep in mind that sound pressure level is a logarithmic decibel scale, so if you go from 100 dB to 101 Db, you're multiplying by a factor of 10.

The biggest factor when dealing with SPL in my opinion is the box design in relation to the sub-woofers. If you build a huge ported box tuned low (like 35 Hz) with one or two subs it will get loud. What is your amplifier rated at? The amp you use makes a difference in how loud your system is. FYI, I'm hitting 140 dB with two 10" subs in a ported box with a 500W amp. I expect to hit a bit higher when I get a bigger amp.
    - F r a n z
    Bucky with teh lime powah!

I have a 1000W peak amp. Right now its at 4 ohms so it's 200W RMS. I tried it at 1 ohm, 500W RMS but i didn't notice much differance so I put it back (plus the THD goes way up at 1 ohm). The speakers are Infinity Kappas 120.3DVC so they can handle 1300 max/300 RMS.