Dynamatting

This is a discussion on Dynamatting within the Interior Mods forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I have the premium sound and I listen to a lot of electronic music. Certain bass frequencies cause rattles in ...

Dynamatting

I have the premium sound and I listen to a lot of electronic music. Certain bass frequencies cause rattles in the doors, and I only have the bass set to 2. Sometime soon I'm going to put dynamat around each door speaker. This this would help?

I found a tutorial on how to take the door panels off. But I've never worked with car audio before. How hard are the speakers to remove? Is there anything else I should know? Have any useful tips that will make the job easier?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I remember reading a bunch of threads on this at Nasioc. They also recommended using B-quiet, an inexpensive alternative to Dynamat.

I Support ClubWRX
    I used Brown Bread (an alternative to Dynamat that works better if you ask me) to do my doors and trunk. While they can reduce some rattles, they can also make others more prevalent, so be aware of that.

As far as where you put the stuff, you can put it just around the speaker but it won't do a whole lot there. If you can, do the whole door. I would especially do the inside part of the door right behind where the speaker sits. my 2 cents...

-MK
    '03 WRX
    '01 2.5RS
    MODS | PICS | Dyno
    "Stuff sold by the gram is always going to be more exciting than stuff sold by the pound." - Jeremy Clarkson

if you were to do all the doors and trunk would this make the outside noise substantially quieter as well?

I Support ClubWRX
    I wouldn't say substantially. There is a noticeable decrease in road noise by doing the doors and trunk. The only way to substantially reduce that noise is by dynamatting the floor and firewall as well.
    '03 WRX
    '01 2.5RS
    MODS | PICS | Dyno