Sub/Amp Install
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Sub/Amp Install within the Interior Mods forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey whats up ya'll, been reading the posts on the forum for some time and finally figured I'd make an ...

Sub/Amp Install

Hey whats up ya'll, been reading the posts on the forum for some time and finally figured I'd make an account.

Anyway i bought a 03 about a week ago and immediately fell in love with the car... except the stereo.

So I went online picked up a new deck (DEH-6500), component speakers (Infinity 50.5CS), a rockford fosgate 12" Power and a 1000bd amp. Well when it comes to car electronics I'm a newb. I was able to successfully install the deck but now what about the sub/amp? I allready purchased a box (some subzero box, absolutely perfect fit and doesn't take up much room) RCA cables to the deck and the power for the amp.

My question is, am I in over my head? Or can I install this on my own? Obviously a monkey can connect the components together but its the wiring that has me a little nervous. I understand that I need to run the power through the firewall, wheres a good spot for this? Do I need to remove the dash? Wheres a good spot to run the cable underneath the carpet to the trunk? Can you mount the amp to the sub enclosure, if not wheres a good spot (in the trunk, or if you have any better suggestions)? If any of ya can help me out I would really appreciate it.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Cool thanks for all the suggestions.

If anything, where is the best place to run the power thru the firewall? Theres a grommet behind the intercooler does this one feed straight into the dash?

cnk