Captain Howdy's guide to installing an aftermarket head unit

This is a discussion on Captain Howdy's guide to installing an aftermarket head unit within the Interior Mods forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I am new to clubwrx.net, and wanted to contribute something right away, which may be useful to a few people ...

Captain Howdy's guide to installing an aftermarket head unit

I am new to clubwrx.net, and wanted to contribute something right away, which may be useful to a few people out there.

This guide explains, step by step, how to install an aftermarket head unit in your 02-03 (and possibly beyond) WRX. I tried to make this guide easy to follow, and included a lot of pictures (probably too many). Clicking on a thumbnail will enlarge the image to full size.

I am by no means an expert on this topic. If you feel there is anything I left out, anything that should be expanded on, or anything that is blatantly wrong, please feel free to point it out.

Step 1 - Getting started
    The first thing you should do is gather all of the equipment and hardware you will need to perform this installation. Listed below is what I recommend, at a minimum:
    -Philips head screwdriver
    -Multipurpose crimper/wire stripper/wire cutter
    -Wire connectors
    -Wiring harness (Vehicle specific, should be available almost anywhere car audio is sold)
    -Head unit wiring harness (Should come packaged with new unit)
    -Din pocket (Fills hole in dash left by double-din stock unit)

Step 2 - Preparing the wiring
    After you have gathered all necessary equipment, you are ready to begin the wiring process.

Start by exposing roughly a quarter inch of bare copper on each wire. You may wish to twist the ends together. This will make it easier to insert the lead into the connector.