Head unit for stock scooby
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Head unit for stock scooby within the Interior Mods forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Just bought an 02 wrx. The car is in its stock condition with the stock 6 disk head unit. I ...

Banned

Head unit for stock scooby

Just bought an 02 wrx. The car is in its stock condition with the stock 6 disk head unit. I have an acendant audio 15" ported and a elemntal designs amp(set up kicks ass ). I researched using the stock head unit but the wire splicing and what not will not cut it(correct me if im wrong). I would like the best head unit for under 500 dollars that money can buy me. I have an xm satalite radio subscription and would like to put it to use without the protable thing. Any sugestions. I would like to keep the flow of the size of the stock head unit if posible(Which may not be the best option) and run satalite radio without the prortable divice. Oh and I own a microsoft zune which was audio outs like a tv audio set.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I have an Alpine deck, which i strongly recommend Alpine or Pioneer decks. They now have hook ups for aux jacks and sat radio ready.

I just replaced my stock head unit with a Kenwood single din. I put a Forester din pocket underneath it, but had to drill new holes into the mounting bracket. The Kenwood has an auxiliary output, but it was in the back. So I drilled a hole in the din pocket and threaded a Monster Cable adapter through it. Now I can plug my Creative Zen right into it and place it back into the din pocket to hide it. I'll add pics if you want to see them. The din pocket was $20. The 1/8th inch stereo plug hooks into the headphone jack and was $20. I went with the Kenwood because I've had good luck with it in the past and because it puts out more RMS power than Sony and many others. 22Watts.
    Last edited by section9; 03-05-2007 at 06:38 PM.
    Batmobile: 2002 WRX wagon RIP