looking to change out the shift knob
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on looking to change out the shift knob within the Interior Mods forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; So as the title states i'm looking for a shift knob upgrade, I was looking at the Cobb knob and ...

looking to change out the shift knob

So as the title states i'm looking for a shift knob upgrade, I was looking at the Cobb knob and I like it, it seems to have what appears to be a similar shape to the stock knob at the bottom which I think is meant to hold the stock shift boot in place, correct me if i'm wrong. Anyway if anyone can suggest other brands or options please do I need other options to consider and right now I don't know of many, just got my '13 WRX last week so i'm new to Subaru. Also I wanted to know if anyone has installed a short shifter with the stock bushings and how that turned out, installing the upgraded bushings seems like a lot of work.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

i installed the Cobb short shift knob and it was a nightmare compared to other mods i have done in the past, the major issue being the reverse lock out cable. be careful with extra slack so as not to have it rub on the drive shaft if you go the Cobb short shifter. Im in Texas and yes its already hot as hell and the knob is nice and relatively cool. I had the black Razo heavy weightknob but it left a bit of the thread showing and it did bug me a bit. you might wanna look into the TWM Abrams line...those are super nice. as far as bushings go i have the Cobb bushings just havnt had a chance to crawl under and remove the heat shields to get access to them.
    good luck with your choice...

I Support ClubWRX
    Since he has a WRX there is no reverse lock out. I have a WC Lathe Werks knob a little on the expensive side but I still love it. I had them put two rings on the lower half and also purple/blue the knob.