Interior Speaker Install 10' wrx

This is a discussion on Interior Speaker Install 10' wrx within the Interior Mods forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I'm an audio noob, just wanting to upgrade the speakers a bit. Wondering if I can grab any old 6.5inch ...

Interior Speaker Install 10' wrx

I'm an audio noob, just wanting to upgrade the speakers a bit. Wondering if I can grab any old 6.5inch coax speakers and plug n play with the stock ones? Or is there more stuff involved? Did a little bit of poking around, but there really is no definitive guide to the 2010 wrx for speaker installs. Any advice is appreciated!
    STINK-EYE MOB #15 ||

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

from the digging that I've done regarding my own 2010 and speaker changes.. there are depth issues to look at (some companies offer spacers to overcome that) and they aren't quite the standard 5.6" size.. If you dig a bit there's a ton of info about it. Just search 08+ instead of just the 2010.

I also found that once I upgraded my head unit and fed more power to the stock speakers they actually sound pretty good.. so that quelled my need to pop off door panels and change things

some have had good luck amping the stock speakers and still using the factory head unit.. the real defining factor I've seen (as true with many sound systems) is power output to the speakers. More is better

The factory head unit is a clarion and is a decent quality unit until considering the internal power supply and amp. They just aren't up to the task so even though it produces a nice clean signal.. the amp cant effectively get it to the speakers.