wiring a new head unit
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on wiring a new head unit within the Interior Mods forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hello, I'm a complete DIY newb. I am trying to install an aftermarket head unit on my '10 WRX. I've ...

wiring a new head unit

Hello,

I'm a complete DIY newb. I am trying to install an aftermarket head unit on my '10 WRX. I've gone through all the threads here and in NASIOC. They all assume that you know how to do wiring. What is the proper technique to connect the little colored wires from the head unit to the adapter? Do I just cut those cables, twist them together, and tape them? I don't want to create an unsafe mess. Thanks.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Ultimately you want to solder them to ensure a quality connection. Spade connectors can be used.

Don't just twist the wires together.
    ...Rob.
    MMVI WRX - VF43 Airboy Tuned @ 3500'

after solder use heat shrink wrap around it to insure no shorts and for a clean look

for the sake of giving your self a headace, get a wiring kit for your car and do not cut the stock harness out.

you can solder, thats the best and most secure way.. OR you can use butt connectors with the proper crimping tool. One that will not release until you've put enough pressure on the crimp to have a solid connection. Here is a pic of what I made for my 2010.. now you dont have to get molex connectors and go this complicated.. but if you ever want to put that new head unit into another car it makes things easier.

What I did here was add a 20pin molex connector between the Pioneer harness and the adapter harness to connect to the factory car wiring. This way its all plug and play.