Service help

This is a discussion on Service help within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey everyone, I am currenly performing my maintenance and while I was under the car, I notices some fluid right ...

Exclamation Service help

Hey everyone,

I am currenly performing my maintenance and while I was under the car, I notices some fluid right under the transmission. Looks clean but I also notice alot of dirt on it. I checked for leaks and I really do not notice where it is coming from.

I have never launched the car for the whole time I've owned it since it is my daily driver. Any suggestions on what or where to check?

I may just go ahead and change the gear oil while under there just to make sure everything is OK. I've never done it before so I may need suggestions. I will be reading the tutorials as well just so I don't get the "do a seach noob" bit.

Thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Here's an image of where the fluid was...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails dsc00207.jpg  

I may be wrong but I believe what you are seeing is the green shipping grease protection they put on the tranny/engine it may have just gotten hot and collected road grime.

Just get you some Kerosene and a rag and wipe it down, It comes off easy.

Make sure the engine/tranny is cool and DONT SMOKE or use a blow torch nearby!

Shotgun

Originally posted by ShotgunTC88

Just get you some Kerosene and a rag and wipe it down, It comes off easy.

Make sure the engine/tranny is cool and DONT SMOKE or use a blow torch nearby!
    You know...for all those times you light a blowtorch then work under your car
    "I don't think he knows how to give up. His mind and machine are racing as one." -Takahashi Ryosuke