Check Engine Light?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Check Engine Light? within the General Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Accidents. forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey guys, on my way home today i was on the freeway when i noticed the Check engine light come ...

Check Engine Light?

Hey guys, on my way home today i was on the freeway when i noticed the Check engine light come on with the cruise light blinking. IM new to subaru's so i dont know what the blinking cruise light means. So ill be at Autozone tommorow with the OBD scanner and ill bring back some codes.

Also is it normal for the STI's Idle to vary? when im just idling i see the RPM sometimes drope down and raise up then stabilize. Im stumped

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Did this happen after you floored it in 5th or 6th gear?

What are your mods?
    -The J
    New Members, CLICK & BOOKMARK these links:

i dont believe so. I went to Autozone and scanned the car with the OBD gun. The code #P0171 and it said the car was running to lean. My mods are AEM CAI, HKS SSQV BOV, HKS Cat back and thats it for performance mods besides my suspension. IM leaning towards the BOV is causing this problem. Any help!

I'm not too knowledgeable but I think BOV's can cause the cars to run too rich.. maybe too lean as well?

I Support ClubWRX
    The check engine light will cause the cruise control to not function properly, causing it to flash (this happened when the dealership that sold my STi gave me one without a catalytic converter).

As for the check engine light, there are many common causes. I haven't modified my car, so I'm not too knowledgeable with that subject. In the future, it may be something as simple as your gas cap not being screwed on tightly (that would be the first thing I would check in those instances before getting the code).

Administrator
    I Support ClubWRX